3 reasons homeschoolers are NOT socially awkward

All right. I suppose it’s about time we address perhaps the most prevalent perception about homeschoolers: being socially awkward. Stereotypically, homeschoolers are shy, homely creatures – very uncomfortable in social environments and basically unable to interact normally with other people. It’s true that there are probably homeschoolers out there who do struggle with these issues. However, many more are NOT socially awkward and here’s why:

1. They’ve had more interaction with people of widely-varying ages.

Rather than spending their days in public schools surrounded by peers, homeschoolers generally come into contact with people much older and younger. When my sisters and I got together with other homeschoolers, there were usually some people around our own ages, but there were also students younger and older than us. We also had a lot of exposure to other adults simply because of the different kinds of opportunities we had.

2. They’re flexible.

It’s pretty obvious, but homeschoolers tend to be quite flexible. Our lifestyle demands it. Structure is important, but within the structure, we learn to do things in different ways. One example is learning styles. If something doesn’t work, homeschoolers have the flexibility to try something new. We have a think-outside-the-box mentality that easily lends itself to social situations.

3. They have a strong support system.

Because of their situation, homeschoolers get much more one-on-one interaction and attention. They usually have very strong family bonds. Growing up in such a supportive, safe environment with people who care about and encourage them does wonders for a child’s self-esteem. This situation is not unique to homeschoolers, but it is certainly very prevalent simply because of the types of values that usually lead parents to homeschool.

Bottom line: homeschoolers may not be “cool,” but they’re not necessarily socially awkward.

Just because they don’t embody the latest trends does not mean homeschoolers are unable to function socially. They may interact with peers a bit “differently,” but more than likely, that’s a good thing.

What has played the biggest role in your social growth?

Kayla

About KaylaRose

I'm a writer and editor with a passion for effective communication. I also love reading, music, my family, and vanilla chai tea.
This entry was posted in Social and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 3 reasons homeschoolers are NOT socially awkward

  1. thebeadingpost says:

    Ha ha! I loved this one! So funny! I agree with the strengths that you propose that homeschoolers have, especially the support system. I think that is what contributes most to a person’s confidence and many people that go to traditional school don’t have that. My parents were very supportive of me, especially my mom. She pushed me to do a lot of things, like swimming, speech, and ballet, that made me a social, confident person. I was very shy, but her support and little pushes made me much more confident.

  2. jamesoknoop says:

    I find that most “awkward” homeschoolers are ones who didn’t get involved outside of their own house. I played baseball and basketball, and ran Xcountry and track so socially I barely even noticed I was homeschooled. I just got all the perks (road trips during the school year, sleeping in, eating whenever I wanted, etc). I actually had a lot of people at the public school I played sports for say they wished they were homeschooled. 🙂

    • KaylaRose says:

      I agree – homeschoolers have many opportunities to get involved, and this is often a big part of social development. I know what you mean about the schedule flexibility too. Looking back, I realize I didn’t really know how blessed I was! I definitely miss it some days.

  3. Elena Fultz says:

    This is so…articulate! This is exactly my experience. Homeschoolers tend to be way ahead of the curve in these areas, not always, but often, and this is why! Thanks! 🙂

Leave a Reply

