Saying Thank You

Throughout my years as a homeschooler, there were many people who had a profound influence on my life. I had many great role models through church and 4-H. I was also blessed to have both sets of grandparents and one set of great-grandparents live nearby, and I have many wonderful memories with them. Without a doubt, however, the most influential people in my life have been my parents. Simply the fact that they chose to homeschool my sisters and I has completely changed my life.

As kids, I think it is so easy to take our parents for granted. And perhaps there is a purpose in that. A child needs to know that her parents will provide for her, love her, and always be there for her. It’s a good thing for them to take that for granted.

As I grow older, however, I am beginning to realize how much my parents have done for me. The decision to homeschool completely changed their lives. In my case, it meant that my mom stayed home to teach us, making my dad the sole provider for a family of seven. In some families, it may even mean alienation or at least some separation from others. There’s no way around it: our parents sacrificed when they decided to homeschool us. Only now am I finally beginning to appreciate it.

If you’re a homeschooled student, think about what your parents gave up to homeschool you. Chances are they wouldn’t go back and change it for the world, but may I make a suggestion? Thank them. Thank them for the hours they spent helping you understand grammar and algebra. Thank them for financial and social sacrifices they have made. Thank them for choosing to homeschool. If they’re anything like my parents, it will mean the world to them.

Kayla

About KaylaRose

I'm a writer and editor with a passion for effective communication. I also love reading, music, my family, and vanilla chai tea.
This entry was posted in Parents and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Saying Thank You

  1. collegeshift says:

    I definitely took my parent’s sacrifice for granted! It seemed easy for them, because my dad was a pastor and could be home a lot, and my mom was a stay-at-home mom. The thing that makes me amazed is that they could stand being around us 24-7. My sister and I used to fight all the time. Not only that, but they got to be around both of us through all the teenage years! 🙂 This would be amazing in itself, but they also attended nearly every track, cross country, basketball, and baseball game I ever played throughout the four years of highschool. I am so thankful for them!

  2. KaylaRose says:

    Thanks for sharing! I know what you mean – it’s amazing what our parents put up with for us!

Leave a Reply

