I was Homeschooled, and I survived

When I was little, and people would ask me what school I went to, I always shuddered. Why? Because I was homeschooled from first grade through my sophomore year of high school. I didn’t shudder because I hated being homeschooled; on the contrary, I loved learning from my intelligent parents and interacting with my three siblings all day. So why the shudder? I suppose it was because when I responded to people’s questions with, “I’m homeschooled,” their responses were rarely encouraging. More often than not, people would say, “Oh, well that’s…interesting,” and they would stop there, not knowing how to proceed in the conversation.

Unfortunately, homeschoolers are often portrayed as curiosities at best, or complete social outcasts at worst. Our purpose here is to set the record straight. I am currently a freshman in college and I survived homeschooling, what’s more, I benefited from it. My parents were both teachers and they taught me well. I grew up in Rochester, Minnesota, where homeschooling is common enough that I participated in sports teams, choir, and drama, which were all organized by and for homeschoolers. I never liked being stereotyped when I told people that I was homeschooled, but looking back, people’s statements, expressions, and actions when I told them I was homeschooled have made me more appreciative of my education and they have given me a lot of hilarity to share. So, read on, and enjoy. Laugh over the stereotypes and learn to appreciate homeschooling. Who knows, maybe next time the conversation won’t end at, “Oh, well that’s…interesting.”

Zoey

About KaylaRose

I'm a writer and editor with a passion for effective communication. I also love reading, music, my family, and vanilla chai tea.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I was Homeschooled, and I survived

  1. meaganlinn says:

    I’m excited to hear more of what you girls have to say 🙂 I went to a really small Christian high school, so I know a little bit of what you’re talking about with people’s comments and such. I’ve actually always been a little jealous of people who were home schooled, they always got to do the coolest stuff. I also like how you turned around “Oh, that’s interesting,” from the first paragraph to the last. Kind of gives the idea that you girls are trying to put a new spin on things. Can’t wait to read more!

    • elizabethz23 says:

      Meagan,

      Glad you enjoyed it. I have quite a few friends who went to small Christian schools as well and I have really enjoyed comparing stories with them. I also played basketball and volleyball in a league that included quite a few small private schools, so I have seen the great communities that some private schools have built up. Thanks for reading.

  2. KAR says:

    I definitely agree that homeschooling often comes with a stereotype, so you say that your purpose here is to dispel that stereotype—how people respond to the knowledge that you are homeschooled. How exactly are you wanting us public-schoolers to react? Do you think that the stereotypes are ever deserved?

    • elizabethz23 says:

      Our main purpose for public schoolers is to just gain a better perspective on homeschoolers. I think that any stereotype has a bit of truth to it, which is why people believe it. My purpose is to poke fun at some of the stereotyping that I’ve experienced and to share my point of view. I really just want people to respond, connecting through shared thoughts or experiences.

  3. kirkistan says:

    I look forward to your posts. I’ll admit to persistent stereotypes that are usually proved quite wrong. Say more!

  4. thebeadingpost says:

    Very… interesting 😉 Just kidding! I wasn’t truly homeschooled, but attended 2 different Christian school, public school, and then started doing NWC online PSEO classes my junior and senior year. So I was sort of homeschooled part-time. Even though this was a very small portion of my education, people still didn’t really “get” what I did at home, even though it was very structured. I loved doing school at home! It was very flexible and it really helped me and my mom become closer through the last 2 years of high school (mostly through random shopping trips in the morning :))I have a few friends that were homeschooled too. It seems like people either do homeschooling very well and come out much better or take a hit for it. My friends came out on the good end, but I have also met people that do not do homeschool well (for example, their children play interactive computer games most of the day). Do you guys find homeschooling groups split like that?

  5. Zoey-
    I loved your first post; I was laughing hysterically. I too was one of the people that probably had nothing positive to say when I heard people were homeschooled, but my opinions were changed when I got to college. I realized that most of the homeschoolers are usually years ahead in credits and really have an advantage in hitting the real world much earlier than us public-schoolers. I wrote my Comp II paper last year on homeschooling and argued the point that homeschooling can be beneficial if the parents take initiative to involve their kids in the activities that they are missing out on had they been in public school so they get the chance to strengthen their social skills with people other than their brothers and sisters. I thought that part of your post was great, how you included that you did get to enjoy all those activities. Personally, I loved public school, but I do admit I can tell when certain homeschoolers have an edge on me in some college classes. I’m beginning to see the homeschooling light  I’m excited to continue to read your blog…
    Lexi

  6. sarahschock says:

    I can tell this is going to be a very “interesting” blog! 🙂 To be honest, I’m not friends with many homeschoolers, so I’ve never really gotten to hear the true “ins and outs” of the process. It’s true that homeschoolers do have a bit of a reputation for being . . . how do I put this nicely . . . socially awkward 🙂 – and to be honest, I’ve met several people who fit that reputation exactly. However, I’ve also met a lot of really fun, outgoing people who I would never have guessed were homeschooled. I’m excited for this blog because it seems as though you guys are taking the perfect approach to the whole idea – I’m glad you can “laugh over the stereotypes” while still giving us a more positive, well-rounded look into what homeschooling is actually like. Very refreshing!!

Leave a Reply

